So. LastPass, the password manager I have been using for more than two years, decided to do something. Very funny.

You can no longer use the free tier of LastPass on both your computer and your phone. You have to choose one, and while you can change it, you only have a limited number of swaps available. I relied on being able to use LastPass on all my devices in order to log into my college's Microsoft Exchange account on all my devices. I even used it to store my COVID-19 test account, and I need it in order to check in and even take COVID-19 tests on campus. So, LastPass is now completely unusable unless I pay. And hey... It's on sale now for 25% off ;)

Fuck LastPass. Fuck LogMeIn. Fuck all of them.

Problem: Even with this greedy, asinine decision, LastPass is still the most full-featured free cloud-based password manager. 1Password is paid, and Dashlane only works on one device unless you pony up.

Solution: KeePass. Old as shit. Works with a local database file. But it's legit pretty cool. I just imported all my passwords from LastPass into it, and I'm gonna take this opportunity to prune a lot of the shit I've built up over the years that I never use. I know I've never even touched my Bespoke Post account ever since I made it. That's going. Same for a lot of my other accounts.

If anything, LastPass being dicks is actually good for me. My personal information is less open to being compromised (those browser extensions are pretty insecure), and I have an excuse to go through all my accounts and get rid of the ones that I don't use anymore. One less point of attack.

So, thank you, LastPass. But also fuck you.